Anyone known to be violating a local, State, and/or Federal law on Board property or at a school function will be subject to referral for prosecution to the appropriate law enforcement agency. The referral process will be subject to Florida statutes and Board policies.
As required by the provisions of State Board of Education Rule F.A.C. 6B-1.006(5) and The Code of Ethics and the Principles of Instructional Conduct of the Education Profession in Florida, an instructional employee is required to self-report within 48 hours any arrests/charges involving the abuse of a child or the sale and/or possession of a controlled substance. Such notice shall not be considered an admission of guilt nor shall such notice be admissible for any purpose in any proceeding, civil or criminal, administrative or judicial, investigatory or adjudicatory. In addition, self-reporting shall also be required for any conviction, finding of guilt, withholding of adjudication, commitment to a pretrial diversion program, or entering a plea of guilty or nolo contendere for any criminal offense other than a minor traffic violation within 48 hours after the final judgement.
When handling sealed and expunged records disclosed under this policy, the District shall comply with the confidentiality provisions in Florida statues.
F.S. 943.0585(4)(c), 943.059(4)(c)